See more of the story
Jim Hagedorn is hoping the fourth time is the charm.
Hagedorn, the son of a former southern Minnesota congressman, won the Republican primary Tuesday in a crowded race in southern Minnesota's First District.
He first ran for the First District seat in 2010, and lost in 2014 and 2016 to U.S. Rep. Tim Walz in the general election.
He will face off in November with political newcomer Dan Feehan — who won the DFL primary — to determine who succeeds Walz, the winner of the Democratic primary race for governor.
Hagedorn defeated three Republicans, including state Sen. Carla Nelson, a Rochester legislator endorsed by the National Rifle Association.
Hagedorn, a former Treasury Department official who grew up on a farm near Truman, Minn., outraised and outspent Nelson. He said Tuesday night that his campaign was on the ground in the district's 21 counties.
"We ran a general election-style campaign," he said. "In a big district, a little perseverance is needed."
Eighth District: Radinovich wins DFL primary

Former state Rep. Joe Radinovich beat out four other DFLers in northeastern Minnesota's sprawling Eighth District, one of the nation's most-watched races.

Radinovich, 32, of Crosby, defeated Duluth TV news anchor Michelle Lee of Moose Lake, former state Rep. Jason Metsa of Virginia, North Branch Mayor Kirsten Kennedy and Bemidji activist Soren Sorensen.

This fall he will go up against Pete Stauber, a St. Louis County commissioner who was backed by President Donald Trump at a June rally and easily won the Republican primary. The Eighth District seat is a top target for Republicans, especially after U.S. Rep. Rick Nolan announced his retirement.

Radinovich previously worked as chief of staff to Minneapolis Mayor Jacob Frey and campaign manager in 2016 for Nolan.

"We just went out there and worked hard," Radinovich said from a Brainerd party, pointing to the "historic" voter turnout statewide. "We have put our hearts and souls into the race."

While Democrats have held the seat for more than 70 years (except for 2011-13), the district went for Trump in 2016 by 15 points.