See more of the story

Goalie Kent Patterson was named to the All-WCHA second team on Wednesday. Otherwise the Gophers, who finished in fifth place in the conference with a late surge, were shut out.

Patterson was first in save percentage (.926) in league games, second in goals-against average (2.31) and third in winning percentage (13-5-5, .674).

North Dakota dominated the awards, as senior forward Matt Frattin was named player of the year, senior defenseman Chay Genoway named outstanding student-athlete of the year and goalie Aaron Dell joining those two on the All-WCHA first team.

Denver forward Jason Zucker was picked as rookie of the year, high-scoring Wisconsin defenseman Justin Schultz was the defensive player of the year and Dean Blais of Nebraska Omaha was coach of the year.

Frattin leads the Fighting Sioux in goals (29) and points (49). Zucker, a Wild draft pick, has 20 goals.

Blais led Nebraska Omaha to a 17-9-2 record and third place in UNO's first year in the WCHA. This is his fourth coach of the year award. He earned his first three at North Dakota, in 1997, 1999 and 2001.

Joining the North Dakota trio and Schultz on the first team were Minnesota Duluth forwards Jack Connolly and Mike Connolly.