Election Day is Tuesday, November 3, 2020. President Donald Trump, the Republican, is facing Democratic former Vice President Joe Biden in the 2020 presidential election. In Minnesota, DFL U.S. Sen. Tina Smith is seeking reelection to the Senate against former GOP Rep. Jason Lewis. In Minnesota's 1st Congressional District, Rep. Jim Hagedorn is facing Dan Feehan. In the 2nd Congressional District, Rep. Angie Craig is facing Tyler Kistner. In the 3rd Congressional District, Rep. Dean Phillips is facing Kendall Qualls. In the 4th Congressional District, Rep. Betty McCollum is facing Gene Rechtzigel. In the 5th Congressional District, Rep. Ilhan Omar is facing Lacy Johnson. In the 6th Congressional District, Rep. Tom Emmer is facing A.J. Kern. In the 7th Congressional District, Rep. Collin Peterson is facing Michelle Fischbach. In the 8th Congressional District, Rep. Pete Stauber is facing Quinn Nystrom. Other parties with candidates on the ballot include the Grassroots-Legalize Cannabis Party of Minnesota, the Legalize Marijuana Now Party, the Green Party and the Libertarian Party. In the Minnesota Legislature, all 134 seats in the Minnesota House and all 67 seats in the Minnesota Senate are up for grabs.

Minnesota faces one of its most consequential elections in years. Races with the highest stakes for Minnesota voters include a presidential race, a U.S. Senate seat, a handful of highly competitive U.S. House races, and all 201 seats in the Minnesota Legislature. The battle for control of the Legislature is particularly intense because lawmakers will have a chance to redraw the state’s political maps for the next decade.

The Star Tribune invited candidates to participate in its digital and printed election guides, asking them to provide information about themselves and views on top issues ahead of the Nov. 3 general election. You will find information in this guide about the race for president, the candidates vying to represent Minnesota in the U.S. Senate and House and a guide to the battle for control of the Minnesota Legislature.

Minnesotans do not have to wait until Nov. 3 to vote; early voting begins today. Find out more about early voting and voting by mail. Keep reading the Star Tribune for ongoing coverage of campaigns and candidates until Election Day and continuing coverage after the votes are counted.

Sign up for the Star Tribune's politics newsletter