See more of the story

After winning the Class 3A jazz and high kick dance team championships a year ago to conclude an undefeated season, Eastview went through the pandemic-riddled 2020-21 season and did it all over again.

A 16-0 record. South Suburban Conference champions, section champions and state champions, in both dance styles for each. And, once again, winner of a Star Tribune All-Metro Team Champion Award.

Minnesota's preeminent high school dance program, the Lightning, with a team motto of "We Are Here,'' this year became the first team with a male athlete competing in a Minnesota State High School League dance team state tournament.

The dancers: Lauren Anderson, Mia Barnes, Lilli Burke, Trinity Dao, Elizabeth Dobis, Maliyah Fongvongsa-Given, Mia Foster, Emma Gannon, Claire Hake, Elizabeth Hallum, Sydney Hart, Grace Heinen, Megan Knutson, Zoe Kritsas, Chloe Kruger, Maggie Larson, Paige Lorsung, Ariana Navarro, Danielle Nelson, Anna Nguyen, Katie Percival, Sabrina Pilney, Ava Sartori, Logan Schommer, Alexis Stolpa, Mailana Tong, Abby Williams and Mia Wodele.

Team managers were Ava Schommer and Kilie Thomas. Head coach was Jenny Raiche, with assistant coaches Toni Balliet, Grace Gilbertson, Shelby Feddema and Jessica Padget.