See more of the story

In Capitol Hill ceremony, Former Minnesota Congressman Vin Weber Tuesday was slated to receive the Democracy Service Medal for his work with the National Endowment for Democracy.

Weber, a lobbyist and Republican campaign guru, was a longtime NED chairman.

Vin Weber/SOURCE: University of Minnesota

Vin Weber/SOURCE: University of Minnesota

The endowment is a "private, nonprofit foundation dedicated to the growth and strengthening of democratic institutions around the world."

Weber is receiving the award in recognition of his time as chair and "his commitment to advancing the principles of democracy and human dignity," according to the organization.

Honorary co-chairs of the event are Madeleine Albright, the former Secretary of State, Richard Gephardt, the NED chair and a former Democratic leader of the House, and Judy Shelton, the NED vice chair.

Previous award recipients include Lech Walesa, former president of Poland, the Dalai Lama, of Tibet and Francis Fukuyama, Johns Hopkins School of Advanced International Studies professor.