See more of the story

By David La Vaque

OK, so this whole preseeded state football tournament format had its hiccups this season. The quarterfinals in Class 5A (Eden Prairie vs. Wayzata) and Class 3A (Glencoe-Silver Lake vs. DeLaSalle) come to mind. But hey, at least there is a playoff system, which was implemented in 1972. Before that, Minneapolis Tribune reporter Ted Peterson named a mythical state champion from 1947 to 1968. The paper picked three more mythical champs after Peterson's retirement. And here they are:

1947 Austin; 1948 Duluth Denfeld; 1949 South St. Paul; 1950 Austin; 1951 Austin; 1952 Bemidji; 1953 St. James; 1954 International Falls; 1955 Rochester; 1956 Minneapolis Roosevelt; 1957 Edina-Morningside; 1958 Robbinsdale; 1959 Minneapolis Washburn; 1960 Robbinsdale; 1961 Austin; 1962 Minneapolis Washburn; 1963 Richfield; 1964 Anoka; 1965 Edina-Morningside; 1966 Edina; 1967 Minneapolis Washburn; 1968 Albert Lea; 1969 Edina; 1970 Osseo; 1971 Moorhead.