See more of the story

Cole Custer became the first rookie winner in the NASCAR Cup Series in nearly four years, surging to the lead in a four-wide, final-lap scramble Sunday at Kentucky Speedway in Sparta, Ky.

Kevin Harvick and Martin Truex Jr. were dueling side by side for the lead on the Lap 265 final restart when Custer — with a push from Matt DiBenedetto on the outside in the backstretch — made his move in the No. 41 Stewart-Haas Racing Ford. As the leaders bunched in Turn 1, Custer slid ahead and outlasted Truex's Toyota.

"I knew I just had to get to the top," said Custer, who led twice for five laps — the first of his young career. "The top rolled pretty good and once I got past and I was like in third I was like, 'I've just got to take a shot and do whatever I can here.' "

Said Truex: "The 41 [Custer] just came with a big head of steam and there was no way I was going to be able to block that. He was just in the right place at the right time, I guess."

Matt Kenseth's Turn 4 spin forced the final caution and created the opportunity for Custer's victory. He finished 25th after starting from the back with Truex.

The victory, in Custer's 20th series start, was the first by a series rookie since Chris Buescher at Pocono on Aug. 1, 2016.

Aric Almirola led 128 of the first 137 laps — nearly 40 more than he has led all season.


Felix Rosenqvist overtook Pato O'Ward on the next-to-last lap and earned his first career victory in the second half of an IndyCar doubleheader at Road America in Elkhart Lake, Wis. Rosenqvist became only the second driver to win an IndyCar event this year, after Scott Dixon posted three straight victories to start the season.

Rosenqvist and Dixon, who finished 12th, are Chip Ganassi Racing teammates.

Formula One

Lewis Hamilton won the Styrian Grand Prix from the pole in Spielberg, Austria. His 85th career victory moved him within six of Michael Schumacher's Formula One record.

Hamilton was hardly challenged as he finished 13.7 seconds ahead of Mercedes teammate and series points leader Valtteri Bottas and 33.7 ahead of Red Bull's Max Verstappen.


Billy Torrence won in the Mello Yello Drag Racing Series return, beating Doug Kalitta in the Top Fuel final in the NHRA Nationals at Indianapolis' Lucas Oil Raceway.Matt Hagan recorded his 34th Funny Car victory, Jason Line won in Pro Stock for his 51st victory and Ryan Oehler became a first-time winner in Pro Stock Motorcycle.