On Books | Star Tribune
On Books

On Books

More accolades for Twin Cities writer Lesley Nneka Arimah

Her short story, "Glory," wins an O. Henry prize, and her story collection is longlisted for a Brooklyn Library Literary Prize.

Author Sherman Alexie cancels much of book tour; Twin Cities' fate unclear

Grief and depression have taken their toll, he says on Facebook. It's unclear yet if his planned Twin Cities appearance is affected.

Edwidge Danticat, Yiyun Li and Lydia Davis headline this fall's U of M writers series

The annual series will bring in three poets, two short-story writers, and three nonfiction writers over several weeks in the fall.

Liu Xiaobo, Nobel Peace Prize winner and dissident, released from Chinese prison

Liu Xiaobo's "June Fourth Elegies" was published by Graywolf Press

Author Marlon James critiques Minnesota racism with viral Facebook post

The St. Paul author writes about what it is like to be black in Minnesota.

Tracy K. Smith is the new U.S. poet laureate

Three of Smith's books have been published by Minneapolis' Graywolf Press, including the Pulitzer-winner "Life on Mars."

Kate DiCamillo: Take a boomerang, leave a boomerang?


Minneapolis author seeds Little Free Libraries with "Kindness Boomerangs" from Indonesian schoolchildren.

Donte Collins named 1st St. Paul Youth Poet Laureate

The city of St. Paul has been wild about poetry for many years

St. Paul memoirist Kao Kalia Yang a finalist for prestigious Chautauqua Award

Yang is a finalist for her latest memoir, "The Song Poet."

Midwest Book Award finalists are announced

Nearly 80 finalists in 30 categories. Winners will be announced in May.

"Redemption's Run," by Jane Fredericksen, is this year's summer serial

The novel is set in Bayfield, Wis., and is the story of a girl who is trying to find her father. It is aimed at both young adults and adults.

Marlon James in conversation: "All the people I believe in believe in books."

The hour-long discussion between Marlon James and Lisa Lucas at the Guthrie Theater was the second of the Loft Literary Center's new "Big Ideas" initiative.

Six poets are finalists for the Lindquist & Vennum prize

Top, left to right: Patrick Johnson, Soham Patel, Paige Riehl
Bottom, left to right: Caitlin Bailey, Michael Torres, Angela Voras-Hills

The winner will be announced April 19 and will receive $10,000 and a publishing contract with Milkweed Editions.

Fundraiser planned for St. Paul poet Brett Jenkins

Jenkins is undergoing treatment in Illinois for bipolar disorder.

Minn. writer Louise Erdrich visibly moved by critics award for fiction

Minnesota native Hope Jahren wins autobiography award but can't make it to ceremony in New York from Norway due to blizzard.

Heid E. Erdrich, Brian Farrey among winners of McKnight Artist Fellowships

Five Minnesota writers each win $25,000.

New season of Talk of the Stacks features writer Lisa Ko, two Star Tribune writers

Five writers will deliver free talks at the downtown Minneapolis public library.

Minneapolis writer Louise Erdrich finalist for prestigious $15,000 PEN/Faulkner award

Of the five finalists, four are debut novels.

Simon & Schuster cancels Milo Yiannopoulos book deal

Milo Yiannopoulos

His book, "Dangerous," is being pulled from publication after a video surfaced of Yiannopoulos discussing sexual relations between men and boys.

Coloring book about Romanov art by two Minneapolis artists prompts pop-up exhibit at TMORA

R.D. Zimmerman and Christopher Bohnet have collaborated on "Vanished Splendor," which highlights art and artifacts from Imperial Russia.