See more of the story

MINNEAPOLIS — Blaine forward Bryce Brodzinski is the Minnesota Associated Press Player of the Year for high school boys hockey.

The award, voted on by a statewide panel of preps reporters and broadcasters, was announced Monday. Joining Brodzinski on the AP's all-state team are Eden Prairie forward Jack Jensen, Edina forward Jett Jungels, Chaska defenseman Mike Koster, Minnetonka defenseman Grant Docter and Minnetonka goalie Charlie Glockner. All six players are seniors.

Brodzinski had 36 goals and 55 assists this season for the Bengals, who took third place in the Class 2A state tournament. He will play in college for Minnesota.

The last time the boys hockey award went to a Blaine player was in 2010 to Nick Bjugstad, who is in his seventh season in the NHL, currently with the Pittsburgh Penguins.